Flashbulb Flashback: Crossing Lines with The Longshots// 7.18.13

Whether midnight had come or gone, I was somewhere between a daydream and the slippery head of a June-cooked insomniac. My spine slowly began to descend into the ground but I was unwilling to give in. Being stubborn often pays off – at least that’s what we tell ourselves – but on this particular night, I was rewarded. My trusty headphones strapped on, I saw: Joey Gorman burning across my handheld blackbox.

Joey is Enfant terrible of Fort Worth’s Junk Rock dynamos, The Longshots, we often communicate on the fringe of conventional schedules. Our exchanges are often just what the doctor ordered, and by “doctor,” I mean the voices in my head. My fellow nighthawk sounded bleached out, as though power smoking through bus stops, “Doesn’t matter how dependable a man is when you get involved with Greyhound.”

A familiar feeling, I stretched out and laid flat like a quarter on the train track, “How’s everyone holding up?”

While I know that Joey is a Texan, he has his own place and time, “I’m goin’ recon, hitting LA first. The boys are flying out in a day or two.”

“How’s the bus ride treating you?”

“Ah, man, not bad, except for the Meth-heads. Everybody’s cool but them.”

I contend, “Meth’s not a good bus drug.”

“You got that right, especially in this heat,” nods our westward soldier from the front lines.

Later, after his arrival, I ask how many folks he’d sat next to, quickly he replies, “Five, everything on the Greyhound was insane.”

Nick Cornetti, Chief of Austin’s Pau Wau, the label responsible for the release of The Longshots’ 7” last year, “First heard them at a show in Ft. Worth, it kinda reminded me of Richard Hell. I love Richard Hell!” Cornetti started Pau Wau driven by boredom in order to “bring more attention to bands that were being overlooked.  After a few months I realized I’m basically running a record label.  That’s when I got serious and started looking for investors and distribution. With artists, I mainly look for bands with an original sound that know how to put on a good live show. Touring is important too, I most likely won’t work with a band if they don’t plan to tour at least four months out of the year.”

The Pau Wau 7” features “At a Time Like This” and “The Chase,” from the quartet of Gorman/Paleschic/Zobel/Luther, recorded by recently-Grammy-fied multi-talented Son of Stan alter ego, Jordan Richardson. The sessions evolved into an explosive debut, three tracks each from the founding trio of songwriters.

Last week I asked Joey how far back his rock roots extended, “My first show was Skynyrd with ZZ Top, it was before I’d heard much Skynyrd. But I just wanted to see the guys who did Sharp Dressed Man.” With a healthy supply of new material, The Longshots are armed with merchandise and an even thicker attitude – visualized by the Big Tex on Fire cover art by Linda Degrow Kingsley. As the big guy waves, you can imagine big things on the horizon for The Longshots.

Leave a Reply

